For your hunger, I give you bread from Heaven

Every now and then I find things I have to share, be it an invigorating story, a song that gave me the autonomous sensory meridian response, a movie that consistently makes me cry (there are a few of those…) or just something I think everyone should see.

Today’s candidates:

I think every artist in the world should see this. Even if their form of art has nothing to do with drawing.

I have an absurd love for the song Caramelldansen (some would call it an obsession, but I can quit whenever I want). A lot of people may already be familiar with this track from the Swedish group Caramell since it took off as an Internet meme when a user sped up the song, turning it into something cute and bouncy. Since then, there have been about a dozen new iterations and remixes, including an English version.

Well, a few days ago, I ran aground of two new versions done by fans that instantly found their way onto my repeat list.

Caramelldansen – Acoustic
Caramelldansen – Banjo and Melodica

Speaking of songs which trigger that little shiver of pleasure, one of my favorite artists of all time, Sandy Lam, has a song which never fails to give me that response. If you can’t read the characters, the pinyin is Wei Ni Wo Shou Leng Feng Chui, if you should need it for any reason. My ASMR triggers between 1:06 and 1:26, especially in the latter 10 seconds.

This artist also has produced of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever heard (Zhi Shao Hai You Ni), but sadly, it’s almost impossible to find a copy online, thanks to international copyright laws. The only place this far west that I can find the song anymore is in googling “zshyn.swf” for Flash movies made in homage. I have the track on CD, but unfortunately, have no way of sharing it in its true glory.

Jamin Winans is a man who deserves more recognition. His film, Ink (Recommended for mature audiences due to strong language and violence) has received almost no acknowledgement in Hollywood because of where it got its start: pirating online. Self-produced for a budget of $250,000 (a mere fraction of the cost of many Hollywood films), without the attention it received from pirating, Ink may never have taken off. To that end, rather than feel affronted at having what little profit he expected be further reduced from pirating, Jamin Winans opted to embrace the piracy for the greater exposure it gave his film. I’d like to think he wouldn’t greatly mind me linking this more obscure Italian subtitled version of the film (you can turn them off). In fact, I highly doubt it, especially since I’m also going to tell you that you can get a physical copy of this masterpiece from his website.

One of his short films, SPIN, is also available for viewing.

4 thoughts on “For your hunger, I give you bread from Heaven

  1. ASMR, huh? And it’s commonly stimulated by certain songs or whispered voices, or repeated simple stimuli like watching someone folding towels, according to that Wikipedia article…Have you ever researched hypnosis? I’m seeing a lotta parallels here.

    Good stuff in general, like.

    • I’ve never really placed a whole lot of stock in hypnosis, but I can kind of see the parallels. I’ve always thought of ASMR as… mental erogenous zones, I suppose, triggered by specific stimuli.

      Now you have me wondering if there’s such a thing as the opposite effect. I’m sensitive to certain bells, particularly ones with a lower pitch. I can’t describe the sensation I get when I hear one, but it’s like nails on a chalkboard without the pain or nausea. I gather a lot of people get the same feeling from tritone.

      • As a (not formally trained) hypnotist, I assure you that hypnosis is worthy of having stock placed in it. But I’m not here to proselytize. Mental erogenous zones…that’s an interesting way to put it.

        I’m all but certain there’s the opposite effect. I can’t hear a plastic spoon scraping against styrofoam, I just can’t. It makes me want to drive nails into my ears to make it stop. This gives me trouble at the ice cream shop, like.

      • I’ve always imagined hypnosis to be akin to a meditative state, something that certain people can achieve by training their mind to react in specific ways to relaxing situations, the concept being so subjective that it proves difficult to quantify or even verify. Under the right circumstances, I can get myself into something of a trance state where I can process data quickly, but good luck to anyone trying to get anything out of my subconscious–or conscious!–since I’ll automatically tune out outside stimuli until the task is complete or there’s a lull. It’s never struck me as something that could be utilized for any other purpose…

        Most of the time when the subject came up in my psychology courses, it was in the context of false memories, which struck me as something to which people are vulnerable to begin with. My instructors didn’t really seem sold on the idea either, so I chalked it up to something related to dissociative states.

Leave a Reply

